Taste The Turmeric

Hello there 

Today, the spotlight is on a fellow blogger who shares her super insightful recipe that has great health benefits. Turn The Page Today is a beautiful collab lifestyle blog and one of the writers, Jen, was my guest writer for today. To view her bio please click here

Enjoy the read 🙂 

I was first introduced to turmeric when I started learning about Ayurveda. A relatively unknown spice to me, I didn’t know how to use it and what its benefits were. The primary reason I was “prescribed” turmeric was to improve my digestion. It also keeps blood sugar in check, bolsters the immune system, and provides energy.

How do I take it?

First thing in the morning, I take ¼ tsp in warm water and drink it. Do not warm the water in the microwave.

Have I seen a difference?

The difference for me has been gradual; I do find that when I don’t drink the warm turmeric water, I break down food differently that day.

How to buy and use turmeric

Turmeric comes in powder, tablet, and liquid extract form. I recommend the powder since its more versatile, and you can use it for cooking or face masks. I won’t recommend the tablet and liquid form as those are best to research for your yourself. Visit Amazon for more info. If drinking it is not for you, it also makes for a delicious spice when blended well with paprika or garlic powder on chicken or beef.

My new fav use of turmeric is a “Tumeric Latte”, aka Golden Milk Latte, which is great at night to soothe the body before going to bed or in the morning with a shot of espresso. Think of it as a “Dirty Turmeric Latte”.

Disclaimer: The recipe is a bit tweaked from the original. The original recipe recommends that you make a turmeric paste, but I don’t always have time for that, so this is a less time-consuming alternative.

A quick tip: whisk well, because turmeric doesn’t completely dissolve, and the last sip even for me is tough, because unless you use a strainer, you have turmeric bits at the end, and it’s just rough. If you want to get fancy you can froth the milk.

Why use pepper and ginger? They have a million health benefits and are great anti-inflammatories. They also enhance the taste. If you don’t like them, use less of them, but it really should be as minimal as adding a pinch of salt to a chocolate cake mix. 

Cook Time: 5 Minutes

Serves: 1

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup of milk (2%, almond, oat, cashew, etc). If I use almond milk I enjoy the unsweetened vanilla

  • 1 teaspoon of turmeric

  • 1- 2  teaspoon of raw honey

  • ½ to 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

  • a small pinch of ground ginger

  • a small pinch of pepper

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Add the milk to a small pot on LOW

  2. Add the turmeric and whisk for a minute to dissolve. After whisk in the honey, cinnamon, pepper and ginger. This should be warm but not boiling.

  3. Add more raw honey/agave for taste

  4. If you make this in the morning, add a shot of espresso

img_8852

Leave a Reply

