Metal Mouth

Greetings to you. Thanks for taking the time to read my latest article. This is a very intimate topic for me and I am sure most people can relate to it. After all, we all want to look good. Enjoy the read!

We live in a world where we strive for good looks. Surgery, fitness programs and a good diet, too.

Ever since I was a little kid I had ugly teeth. I always kept to myself and had very limited social interaction just to avoid the looks and comments even though people tended to be nice, I could tell what they were thinking…

Growing up was a challenge without the burden of an ugly mouth. And in school, kids were cruel – a life lesson we all go through (Unless you enjoyed being a lowlife bully and relished in bringing others down?)

Hitting high school was a daunting task for me. I was one of those quiet types who envied those with such nice teeth. What is it that attracts a person to a nice mouth? Besides eyes, a nice mouth tends to be one of the first things people look at when engaging in a conversation with you.

It never bothered me that much that I was an average girl with ugly teeth, but once I graduated high school (2011) I started to feel uglier and uglier…

 

 Adults make up 40% of the orthodontics sector. Let that just sink in…

In January 2016, everything started to change. I jumped on the bandwagon.

I went for my appointment and within an hour I had braces. I was beyond thrilled.

 

I become an adult with braces. #MetalMouth

Braces 3

A brand new exciting chapter had begun… With my handy braces guide-book and new mouth, I was ready for the challenge.

For the next week and a bit, I could not eat ANY solid food, let’s just say I missed food SO MUCH after the second day 😦

 

FOODS I MISS

 

1) BACON

2) BACON

3) BACON

4) TOASTED SARMIES

5) BACON

6) BILTONG

7) CHOCOLATE SLABS

8) BACON

9) SWEETS

10) BACON

Basically, anything yummy and hard you are not allowed to eat. A sacrifice I am half happy I made.

 

People asked if it hurt to get braces honestly, it did not. The real pain started that night – trying to sleep with braces was terribly uncomfy and after 2 weeks it became the norm and I managed just fine.

The real blessing with braces has to be losing weight. In 2 months I lost 2 kgs. Yes, I am already a petite lady, but not the desired figure I want to be.

 

So, with a new attitude and a long, but exciting journey ahead for a nice mouth, I am ready! Despite all the delicious foods I cannot indulge in until such time of my braces being removed fingers crossed that by 2017, I can have a somewhat nice mouth and strut my stuff.

 

And as the saying goes “Better late than never”

Braces

1 thought on “Metal Mouth”

Leave a Reply

